Nice write up from Holger Weis on the recent Junior Sailing banquet.
From: Holger Weis []
Sent: Thursday, June 15, 2006 12:16 AM
To: Holger Weis
Cc: IOD-Parent Kent Fox; Smith, Mark
Subject: OPTI UPDATE: 2006 Sailing Banquet Closes out a Great Year in Sailing at LYC!

Yesterday evening we wrapped up the sailing year with our spring banquet. We recounted a year of many great successes in the program. We awarded sailors embroidered LYC visors for winter series and embroidered cd cases for spring series. We missed those of you unable to attend and your awards are being held by Ben in his office. Thanks to all three Commodore's Alan Dobbins, Fred Welker and David Rulien for attending the banquet and assisting with the award presentations.

Thanks to Ben, Patrick, Frank, Anna and the many other guest coaches for making this a great year. We are similarly grateful for the tremendous support and volunteer effort from the parents this past year. We want to also thank the club for their generous ongoing support of our program that provides our sailors this great opportunity. We also want to thank past Fleet Captain Peter Commette for his tremendous support of the sailing program over the past two years. The program continues under the experienced leadership of Fleet Captain Mark Smith and next year's IOD Chair Kent Fox, who generously assumes the role for a third time.

Finally, the Spring banquet is also the time when most of the perpetual trophies are awarded. Congratulations sailors! These awards and the winners for the 2005-06 sailing season are as follows (with photos, low resolution for file size purposes, attached):

Clyde Wright Pram Trophy Top LYC sailor at the USODA National Championship Mac Agnese, who placed 19th at the National Championship held at Norfolk Yacht & Country Club. Mac is away in Argentina with his grandparents and his mother Lynne was there to receive the award on his behalf. Thanks to Commodore Dobbins for his comments and presenting this award.

Toppa Award Teamwork Trophy for those who exhibited outstanding teamwork - St. Petersburg Team Racing A Team comprised of Mac Agnese, Christina Lewis, Chanel Miller, Alec Payne, Erika Reineke Thanks to Mike Toppa for his comments on the importance of teamwork and presenting the award.

Meagher International Award Top LYC sailor at a combination of away (travel) and home (Fall, Winter, Spring & Commodore's Cup) regattas Chanel Miller

Hollowell Award Top LYC Female sailor at selected regattas and Club series (Fall, Winter, Spring & Commodore's Cup) Chanel Miller. Thanks to Rear Commodore Rulien for his comments and presenting this award.

Overall Club Champion Top LYC sailor in Championship Fleet in Club series races (Fall, Winter, Spring & Commodore's Cup) Erik Weis

Corinthian Award Top LYC Commodore Fleet Sailor in Club series races (Fall, Winter, Spring & Commodore's Cup) Anna Weis

Golden Bailer Award Holley, Alie & Liza Toppa Thanks to John Payne and Ben Williams for the presentation of this award for bonus time spent outside of the boat.

Captain Pete Puddleduck Beginning sailor who demonstrates perseverance - Nelson Bass


Have a great summer everyone!